The Truth About Effective Link Building
Link building is often referred to as off page search engine optimisation and it is the life blood of your website. It is what gets you indexed, what ranks you in the search engines, helps you climb the rankings and then what keeps you there.
Obviously you need content so that the search engines know what your site is about. This is the on page search engine optimisation. BUT once the on page is done it is time for the off page and you should consider it to be just as important.
The real secret to effective link building is to be slow and steady and natural looking. At the end of the day of course you want your website to rank well and of course you want as many visitors as possible, but you also want to keep your site in the rankings and not get labelled as spammy.
Now I want to tell you about a special kind of link building program called Linkvana. Basically you write short posts or articles relating to your site with one way anchor rich links in them. These posts and articles get posted to pr2 to pr5 blogs across a wide range of class c ip addresses.
In my experience you can get up to 150 links per month per site, for unlimited sites and the posts once published get indexed almost immediately. This means that links are pointing to your site in a very short space of time enabling new sites to get indexed and ranked quickly.
I use several link building strategies, but this is by far my favourite. Try out their free offer with no obligation and you’ll see the benefits straight away.
New Virus Amongst Us

- Image via Wikipedia
Further to my spam post a few days ago I thought this was relevant.
I received a message, from someone that I subscribe to, about a new virus so I checked it for myself and thought you’d like to see the results.
This is the message I got …
“HUGE VIRUS COMING! PLEASE READ & FORWARD!”
Hi All,
I checked with Norton Anti-Virus, and they are gearing up for this virus!
I checked Snopes, and it is for real. Get this E-mail message sent around to all your contacts ASAP.
PLEASE FORWARD THIS WARNING AMONG YOUR FRIENDS, FAMILY AND CONTACTS!
You should be alert during the next few days.
Do not open any message with an attachment entitled ‘POSTCARD FROM HALLMARK,’ regardless of who sent it to you. It is a virus which opens A POSTCARD IMAGE, which ‘burns’ the whole hard disc C drive of your computer.
This virus will be received from someone who has your e-mail address on his/her contact list. That is the reason why you need to send this e-mail to all your contacts. It is better to receive this message 25 times than to receive the virus and open it!
If you receive a mail called’ POSTCARD,’ even if it is sent to you by a friend, do not open it! Shut down your computer immediately. This is the worst virus announced by CNN.
It has been classified by Microsoft as the most destructive virus ever. This virus was discovered by McAfee yesterday, and there is no repair yet for this kind of virus. This virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Disc, where the vital information is kept.
After a little digging I found the following …
- a squidoo lens related to it offering virus software via clickbank, which is an affiliate program for those new to internet marketing. (This was my favourite because it shows the initiative of an affiliate marketer cashing in on something that they know people will search for after getting an e-mail. Think outside the box guys.)
- about.com said … The Postcard from Hallmark hoax includes a link to a Snopes article which is worded in such a way that it appears the hoax warning is legitimate. It isn’t. While greeting card scams do exist, they don’t bear any resemblance to what’s outlined in the hoax. Following is one example of the Postcard from Hallmark virus hoax. Then had the same message as above following.
- about.com also said on another page … False email alert warns of ‘the worst virus ever’ circulating in the form of an attachment labeled ‘POSTCARD’ or ‘POSTCARD FROM HALLMARK.’
Description: Email hoax
Circulating since: Feb. 2008 (this version)
Status: False, although real e-card viruses resembling this do exist
IMPORTANT NOTE
Some versions of this hoax claim the information was “verified” on Snopes.com. This is NOT true. What has been verified on Snopes.com is a different e-card virus threat with a similar name.
DO beware of phony “Hallmark” (or other) e-card notices — they may carry a real virus.
- You can read the whole story on snopes.com, but the gist of it is that … Although the Postcard virus is real, it isn’t a “BIG VIRUS COMING” (it’s already been around in multiple forms for a long time now), it will not “burn the whole hard disc” of your computer, CNN didn’t classify it as the “worst virus” ever, and it doesn’t arrive in messages bearing a subject line of ‘Invitation.’
So there you have it, like with my previous post, the spammers/virs senders/hackers/phishers are getting cleverer, we just need to think before opening an e-mail or clicking a link that we are not sure came from where it says it comes from.
The Evolution Of Spam
SPAM is an e-mail received that you have not asked for, as in you have not signed up to someone’s list and asked for information from them.
I get quite a lot of spam as I’m sure everyone with their own website does, but the evolution of this spam is very worrying. Just before christmas there was an influx of facebook spam, which I am sure led to mane people’s accounts being hacked.
The spammers are getting more sophisticated and are now sending html messages and not plain text messages. This means that they can show you any url they like while hiding the real url.
I use microsoft outlook for my e-mails and if I hove over any link it shows me the real link, so I can always check if I am unsure. Today though I got a spam e-mail that shocked me. It was from my domain to my normal e-mail at that domain explaining that there had been an upgrade and I had to click the link to confirm the changes. I have posted the content at the bottom of this post with a few details blanked out for security, but I wanted you to see how believable it was. I checked the url straight away and it was a fake one, but others may not check, so I wanted to make you all aware.
The best advise I can give you to avoid this new evolution of spam is that if you are unsure about a link in an e-mail DO NOT click it.
Here is the e-mail I got, remember that the url shown has been changed to protect my security, but that also it was not the real url …
Dear user of the kellyifrah.com mailing service!
We are informing you that because of the security upgrade of the mailing service your mailbox (admin@kellyifrah.com) settings were changed. In order to apply the new set of settings click on the following link:
http://kellyifrah.com/xxx/xxx/xxx.php?email=admin@kellyifrah.com&from=kellyifrah.com&fromname=admin
Best regards, kellyifrah.com Technical Support.
Letter_ID#XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

![[del.icio.us]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/delicious.png)
![[Digg]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/digg.png)
![[Google]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/google.png)
![[LinkedIn]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/linkedin.png)
![[StumbleUpon]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/stumbleupon.png)
![[Windows Live]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/windowslive.png)
![[Yahoo!]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/yahoo.png)
![[Email]](http://www.onthenetdollars.com/wp-content/plugins/bookmarkify/email.png)
![Reblog this post [with Zemanta]](http://img.zemanta.com/reblog_e.png?x-id=1954a244-19ec-45ca-add3-28cd66f321f2)









































